Schengen Visa

The German Embassy Nairobi issues short term visas to Germany and Schengen-space for purposes such as business trips, visits to family or friends, tourism or medical treatment. These visas are category C Schengen-visa, valid for stays up to 90 days. 

Although these visas ensure free movement within the whole Schengen space, the German Embassy Nairobi will only issue a visa if Germany is the main country of visit (considering length of your stay). 

If another country within the Schengen space is your main destination, you will need to apply in the Embassy of that country, even if your travel arrangements take you first to Germany. If no country can be singled out, you will need to apply at the Embassy of the country you are entering first into Schengen-space.

Please note that the earliest you can apply for a short term visa is 90 days before the intended beginning of your journey.

Before reading further, kindly consult our general information on Schengen visas! 

General Information Schengen Visa [pdf, 295.75k]

Business Visa [pdf, 504.32k]

Visit Visa [pdf, 545.79k]

Tourist Visa [pdf, 545.02k]

Medical Visa [pdf, 548.83k]

Athletes Visa [pdf, 502.41k]

Artists Visa [pdf, 503.57k]

Checklists Schengen Visa: Please print out!

Simplified visa application

The following groups can benefit from simplified visa application procedures:

Frequent Travellers

Frequent Travellers are applicants who have had at least two Schengen visas or a one/multiple year visa within the last 24 months and have travelled at least twice to Germany/Schengen space within the last 24 month.

Applicants in this category can apply for a Schengen visa every Monday afternoon from 2 to 4 pm without special appointment. These applicants do not have to apply in person*. Nevertheless, due to the limited number of applications which can be accepted**, it is however recommended to book a normal appointment online.

Only complete applications will be processed. A part from the fast-tracked appointment procedure, all other requirements for the applied for type of visa (business, visitor etc.) remain the same. In addition, frequent Travellers will also need to fill in a medical insurance declaration form.

Frequent Traveller health insurance declaration [pdf, 55.6k]

Schengen visa take 3-5 working days to be processed (in exceptional cases up to 15 working days).

[* In some cases, the Embassy can request the applicant to appear in person]
[** Strictly on "first come, first serve" basis. Depending on visitor's traffic, the German Embassy cannot guarantee all applications to be received the same day]

Diplomatic passport holders

Diplomatic passport holders residing in Kenya may lodge their application by special appointment. These applicants should contact the Embassy's visa section to arrange for a special appointment.

Note Verbale holders

Note Verbale holders residing in Kenya may lodge their application by special appointment. These applicants should contact the Embassy's visa section to arrange for a special appointment.

U.N. Laisser-Passer holders

Holders of United Nations Laisser-Passer travel documents, regardless of their nationality, on official duty only, do not need a visa to travel to Germany for a short-term visit of up to 90 days. Please be prepared to provide proof of your official mission as well as your nationality (national passport) upon entering Germany. You are also expected to provide proof of travel insurance upon entering Germany.

Holders of U.N. Laisser-Passer travel documents intending to enter Germany for a private visit must apply for a visa with their national passport. You are kindly advised to follow the general rules and requirements provided by the German Embassy in Nairobi.

Contact the visa section

Visa section

Telephone service of the visa section (information only):

Tue and Thu 15:00-16:00 hrs (Kenya)
(Summer CET + 1h, Winter CET + 2h)

Kindly note that all visa inquiries must be directed to the below-mentioned e-mail address. Please do not use the contact form for visa inquiries.

+254-(0)20-4262 140
+254-(0)20-4262 129

What is Schengen?

Schengen is a small town in Luxemburg, bordering both France and Germany. It is here that, on 14 June 1985, the Schengen Agreement was signed. One of the key points of the agreement was (and still is) the complete abolition of border controls between the member states, thus facilitating free movement of goods and persons within the Schengen space.

What does this mean for non-EU citizens? Anyone holding a uniform Schengen visa (which is the visa issued for short-term stays in Germany) may also enter any other fully implementing country during the visa's validity period.

Schengen member states: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland.